

August 2024

To: VHHA Members

From: Sean T. Connaughton VHHA President and CEO

Subject: VHHA Outstanding Service Awards Nominations

The Virginia Hospital & Healthcare Association is pleased to announce that nominations are now accepted for the 2024 VHHA Outstanding Service Awards.

These awards recognize individuals who have made a real difference to Virginia's hospitals and health systems, and to health care in general, by being selfless, energetic, and passionate.

The following pages explain the awards, how winners are selected, and the nomination process. Please give serious consideration to possible nominees for these awards, as this is an opportunity to recognize true excellence in the Virginia hospital and health system community.

The deadline for nominations is September 13, 2024. If you have submission questions, please contact (804) 965-1209.

Outstanding Service Awards

The Virginia Hospital & Healthcare Association considers candidates for three outstanding service awards: the Distinguished Service Award, the Meritorious Service Award, and the Excellence in Governance Award. These awards recognize those who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to contribute to Virginia's hospitals and health systems.

Award Criteria

Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service Award is given to a past or current chief executive officer with a long record of performing outstanding, valuable, and unique services to the hospital and health system community. These individuals have made exemplary contributions to the hospital and health system community through leadership, management, education, research, and service.

Meritorious Service

Honors people other than chief executive officers affiliated with member institutions who have a history of making significant contributions to the health care field – on both a state and local level through commitment to service and leadership. Nominees must be recognized as leaders in health care management and policy issues and be involved in health care from the perspective of management or providing support for delivering health care services.

Excellence in Governance

Honors people from member hospital or health system governing bodies who have a history of making significant contributions to the health care field – on both a state and local level – through commitment to service and leadership. Nominees must be or have been involved in health care from the governance perspective.

Nomination Process and Award Presentation

Any representative from a VHHA institutional member may nominate an individual. Nominations must be submitted on the enclosed form. Include a resumé and a one-page narrative summarizing the candidate's accomplishments and stating the reasons for the nomination. Letters of recommendation and other supporting materials may be attached. Nominations must be received by Friday, September 13, 2024. Please mail entries to: VHHA Governance Committee, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 203, Glen Allen, Virginia 23060

Nominations are evaluated and chosen by the VHHA Governance Committee. The committee reserves the right not to present an award in any category.

Awards recipients will be recognized at a celebratory luncheon to be held at the 2024 Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Leader Summit, scheduled for November 6-8, 2024 at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, VA.

Past Award Recipients

Distinguished Service

(1968) Charles P. Cardwell Jr.

(1974) Max Goodloe

(1980) Charles S. Elliott

(1984) William H. Flannagan

(1984) William H. Green Jr.

(1984) John F. Harlan Jr.

(1984) David G. Williamson Jr.

(1985) W.C. Bloxom

(1985) Raymond E. Hogan

(1985) William R. Reid

(1985) Robert H. Thomas

(1986) George E. Bokinsky

(1986) Hunter A. Grumbles

(1986) Gibson Howell

(1987) Nathan Bushnell III

(1987) Harold Prather

(1989) Stuart D. Ogren

(1993) J. Edward Sweet Jr.

(1994) E.L. Derring

(1995) Kenneth H. Axtell

(1995) Glenn R. Mitchell

(1996) Lester L. Lamb

(1997) Kenneth L. Waddell

(1998) John N. Simpson (1999) Thomas L. Robertson

(2001) Wickliffe S. Lyne

(2002) T. Carter Melton Jr.

(2003) Donald S. Buckley

(2005) Chris A. Lumsden

(2006) Michael J. Halseth

(2007) Christopher M. Carney

(2007) Laurens Sartoris

(2009) William M. Moss

(2010) George W. Dawson

(2012) Rodger H. Baker

(2013) Deborah R. Lipes

(2013) Deboran R. Lipes (2013) Sheldon M. Retchin

(2015) David L. Bernd

(2017) John F. Duval

(2018) John L. Fitzgerald

(2019) Fred M. Rankin III

(2022) James B. Cole

(2022) Mark H. Merrill

(2023) James D. Dahling

(2023) William B. Downey

(2023) Howard P. Kern

(2023) Dr. Kurt Newman

Meritorious Service

(1992) Donald E. Lorton

(1995) Gordon D. McLean

(1996) E. George Middleton Jr.

(1997) Edna Brockwell

(1997) Charles M. "Pete" Hearn

(1998) Archie E. Cromer Jr.

(1998) Howard L. Greenhouse

(1999) William S. Tennant

(2000) William A. "Pete" Johnston

(2001) James S. Watkinson

(2003) Katharine M. Webb

(2004) L. Darrell Powers

(2005) Edward A. Smith, Jr.

(2006) Xavier R. Richardson

(2006) Calbreith L. Simpson

(2008) Beth M. Duke

(2009) Shirley Rogers Gibson

(2011) Dale A. Carroll, MD, MPH

(2012) Jennifer A. Smith

(2015) Rear Admiral Alton L. Stocks,

M.D. (Ret.)

(2017) Rev. Dr, Sylvia Tucker

(2018) Nathaniel L. Bishop, D.Min.

(2019) Donald B. Halliwill

(2019) Dr. Jose Oberholzer, MD

(2022) Nancy W. Littlefield

(2023) Eileen L. Dohmann

(2023) Peter F. Gallagher

Excellence in Governance

(2005) J. Samuel Glasscock

(2006) Douglas V. Carson

(2007) Barbara B. Stoltzfus

(2008) George B. Cartledge, Jr.

(2008) Rodger W. Fauber

(2009) Constance R. Kincheloe

(2009) John M. Toups

(2009) Joseph R. Wilson

(2010) Spencer D. Quesenberry

(2011) F. Dixon Whitworth, Jr.

(2012) Warner Dalhouse

(2012) John F. Fick III

(2013) Frank R. Campbell

(2015) Otey C. Dudley

(2017) James A. Hartley

(2018) Alda L. White and Robert

"Bob" C. Fort

(2019) Alan S. Witt

(2022) Penelope A. "Penny"

Gross

(2022) Dian Calderone

(2023) Steve Danziger

Nomination Form

Submission Deadline: September 13, 2024 (please type or print)

Award for Which Nomination is Made

Distinguished Service	Meritorious Service	Excellence in Governance
Name of Nominee		Title
Name of Organization		
Organization Address		
Organization Telephone Num	ber	E-mail Address
narrative that summarizes the	ions should include a current resume candidate's accomplishments and a ccolades, and other supporting mate	lists reasons for the nomination.
Nomination Submitted By		
Name		Title
Name of Organization		
Organization Address		
Telephone Number		E-mail Address

Please mail entries to: VHHA Governance Committee 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 203 Glen Allen, VA 23060